Took a GD class today

After I found out I had gestational diabetes, I went through a range of emotions from crying to anger with my body to guilt.

Even though today’s class was an overwhelming amount of information, I can feel my negative feelings slowly subsiding which is a good thing. Thankfully since I’m borderine GD, I am focusing on controlling it with diet, exercise and monitoring blood glucose 4x per day. There were a few women in my class that also have to take insulin/medication to control it along with diet, exercise and monitoring.

I’m no stranger to “dieting” even though I don’t consider Weight Watchers to be a diet. I have lived by their motto “It’s not a diet! It’s a lifestyle” for the past 2 years and have lost 62 lbs. But I will say that it’s gonna be a mental shift to think of “fruit” as the enemy since WW’s program is geared towards members reaching for fruit/veggies. There have been many times I’ve used “free fruit” as a way to get over a craving or boredom eating. Now that is not an option with GD diet. It’s a little stricter.

Here are my guidelines. I need to eat every 2-3 hours.

My glucometer.  Dorra doesn't seem too impressed.

My new glucometer. Dorra doesn’t seem too impressed.

BREAKFAST:: 15 g carbs
0 servings milk
1 serving starch
0 servings fruit
Unlimited vegetables*
1-2 servings protein**
1-2 servings fat

SNACK 1
1 serving starch + 1 serving protein

LUNCH:: 45-60g carbs
1 servings milk
1 serving starch
1 servings fruit
Unlimited vegetables*
2-3 servings protein**
1-2 servings fat

SNACK 2
1 serving starch + 1 serving protein

DINNER:: 45-60g carbs
1 serving milk
1 serving starch
1 serving fruit
Unlimited vegetables*
2-3 servings protein**
1-2 servings fat

* Exception carrots (1 cup), peas (1 cup), potatoes (1/2 cup), yams (1/2 cup), corn (1/2 cup)
** If still hungry, add more protein

I think the hardest thing about this is that I’m still in denial. I keep thinking… They made a mistake! The test is wrong! I’m healthy. I don’t have diabetes …and it doesn’t help that Carl’s Jr’s new commercial for the Pop Tart ice cream sandwich is ALWAYS on the tv!! I miss sugar already.

Leave a Reply

