Nuchal translucency screening

Today was Baby Osborn’s much anticipated Nuchal Translucency (NT) ultrasound. It is the second part of the prenatal screening testing that provides pregnant women with a risk assessment for open neural tube defects (NTD), abdominal wall defects (AWD), down syndrome (trisomy 21), trisomy 18 and SLOS (Smith-Lemli-Opitz Syndrome). Pretty scary stuff!

Since Dr. Chong and Kaiser La Palma doesn’t have the advanced equipment needed for this ultrasound at their location, we went to the new Kaiser Kraemer Anaheim (which ironically is not located on Kraemer Ave but rather La Palma Ave. lol). There Dr. Leo and his tech, Shirley, performed the ultrasound. We were hoping that Shirley would give us a gender guess but she politely said that “Sorry this is not an anatomy scan.” After getting shot down by Shirley, we wussed out on asking Dr. Leo. Darn!! I wanna know already. I’m so impatient!

BabyOsbornNTscan

Dr. Leo explained, after looking at the NT scan and comparing it with my first blood test, that my risk factor for Downs was 1/4000 and my risk factor for Trisomy 18 is 1/70,000. *sigh of relief* Todd and I like those odds. At this time, we have decided against amniocentesis. I’m really happy about that b/c the idea of a HUGE needle in my uterus did not sound fun.

In the mean time, Candy Corn is doing great (as you can see from ultrasound picture). Doesn’t it look like s/he has it’s hands behind the head, just chilling out in my uterus? I love that Shirley was able to get this full body shot. The change is so amazing. From this tiny little jelly bean to this little mini person. Todd and I love him/her so much already.

Next appointment: May 6th @ 430pm

One thought on “Nuchal translucency screening

Leave a Reply

