Meet Baby Osborn

Screen shot 2013-03-12 at 8.31.10 PM

Today was our first OB appt.

I really didn’t know what to expect. I didn’t even know if I would get an ultrasound since a few women on my pregnancy discussion board said it depends on the doctor.

First we talked with the OB nurse, Keri, who weighed me (+5lbs already!), took my blood pressure and asked me a few preliminary questions. Then we watched a 5 minute video about optional prenatal screening for birth defects. That was a little scary. Down syndrome runs in my family. I guess Todd and I will have to talk about it before our next visit.

Next we met Dr. Chong. She’s lovely. She has a great bed side mannered and answered all my questions about safe medications, food restrictions, prenatal vitamins, lack of morning sickness, exercise etc. She performed a breast exam, PAP and transvaginal ultrasound. Uncomfortable but not painful.

I will never forget Todd’s face when he saw Baby Osborn’s heart beat for the first time. He kinda gasped, stroked my head and held my hand. I don’t even think he was aware he was doing it either. I was so amazed at how fast that little heart was beating. Dr. Chong estimates it was about 140-160 beats per minute. Perfectly normal in her words. Considering my resting heart rate is 79, that’s double! Wow. Then she turned up the volume so we could hear it. I couldn’t stop staring at the little flicker on the screen.

I knew my little candy corn (our nickname for Baby Osborn) was there but seeing an image on the screen makes it so much MORE real.

Dr. Chong confirms that Baby Osborn’s estimated due date (EDD) is 10/28/2013, measures about 1.04 centimeters and is 7 weeks 1 day.

Next appointment: April 3 @ 11:10am

Leave a Reply

